I think we all can be too quick to judge

Photo by: Britney Molloy

Have you ever heard a person’s story and was completely changed by it? I’m learning that, if you are intentional with your interactions, then you can learn something from any person, regardless of who that person is.

This summer, I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer at a drug and alcohol recovery program. The place that I volunteered also served as a homeless shelter and offered three free meals a day, every day, to anyone who needed it. The jobs I did varied each time that I worked – sometimes I helped out in the kitchen, other times I played music for the people in the recovery program. During my time volunteering, I was able to meet and build relationships with the people in the recovery program.

There was one man I met in the program who I viewed him as a farther-type figure. This man took me under his wing, and made me feel completely at home. He was a loving and caring man, full of life and wisdom.

I never would have guessed that, years ago, he killed a man.

He recognizes his sins of the past. He is ashamed of them. Even though his past was dark, his future is light.

Every day, this man wakes up and strives to be better than what he was yesterday.

That’s more than I can say for myself.

So tell me – who is the better person?

Britney Johnna.

 

Leave a Reply

